Heads of Special Collections (HOSC)

Years active: 2004-2013

NOTE: Beginning July 2013, the University of California Libraries launched a revised advisory structure. The groups within the previous structure are no longer active, including this group. See UC Libraries Advisory Structure (UCLAS) for information about the current structure.

Group Description

Charge

  • Advising CDC and other all campus groups on special collections issues;
  • Coordinating systemwide activities relating to collection development, acquisitions, management, preservation, and access for special collections;
  • Coordinating appropriate special collections policies among the campus library systems;
  • Serving as a discussion group among the members on special collections issues and innovations;
  • Serving as a focus for information dissemination on special collection;
  • Communicating with all other campus groups, SOPAG-appointed task forces, and other common interest groups on special collections issues.

Composition

HOSC is comprised of one representative from each campus library system (the head of one of the campus's special collections units, appointed by the (University Librarian) and a member of the Collection Development Committee appointed as liaison from CDC.

Reporting Line

HOSC reports to the Collection Development Committee.

Chair

HOSC members serve as Chair on a rotating basis by alphabetical order of the campuses. Each chair serves a two-year term. HOSC normally meets twice a year (usually scheduled the day before an Archivists' Council meeting), with additional business conducted by email.

Key Documents

Annual Reports

Goals

Roster at Time of Disbandment

UC Berkeley

Dr. Elaine Tennant
James D. Hart Director, Bancroft Library
University of California, Berkeley
etennant@berkeley.edu

Peter Hanff
Deputy Director, Bancroft Library
University of California, Berkeley
phanff@library.berkeley.edu

UC Davis

Ms. Daryl Morrison
Head, Special Collections
University of California, Davis
dmorrison@ucdavis.edu

UC Irvine

Audra Eagle Yun (chair, 2014-2017)
Head of Special Collections and Archives
University of California, Irvine
audra.yun@uci.edu

UC Los Angeles

Sharon Farb
AUL for Special Collections and International Studies
University of California, Los Angeles
farb@library.ucla.edu

UC Merced

Emily S. Lin
Head, Digital Assets
University of California, Merced
elin@ucmerced.edu

UC Riverside

Cherry Williams
Director of Distinctive Collections
University of California, Riverside
cherry.williams@ucr.edu

UC San Diego

Lynda Corey Claassen
Director, Mandeville Special Collections Library
University of California, San Diego
lclaassen@ucsd.edu

UC San Francisco

Polina E. Ilieva
Head of Archives and Special Collections
University of California, San Francisco
Polina.ilieva@ucsf.edu

UC Santa Barbara

Danelle Moon
Head, Special Research Collections
University of California, Santa Barbara
danelle.moon@ucsb.edu 

UC Santa Cruz

Elisabeth Remak-Honnef
Head of Special Collections and Archives
University of California, Santa Cruz
remak@ucsc.edu

California Digital Library

Adrian Turner
Data Consultant
California Digital Library
adrian.turner@ucop.edu

Ex Officio

Catherine Mitchell
Director of Publishing Services
California Digital Library
Catherine.Mitchell@ucop.edu

Document owner: Polina Ilieva
Last updated: December 12, 2019