Common Knowledge Groups

Guidelines for Common Knowledge Groups (Rev. October 6, 2015) [PDF]

Overview

Common Knowledge Groups (CKGs) are standing groups of experts or pioneers in areas of interest to the University of California Libraries (UCL). The intention of CKGs is to foster innovation and continuous improvement by providing a venue for staff across campuses and from various levels to exchange ideas and collaborate on systemwide initiatives. Although CKGs may communicate with groups in the UCL Advisory Structure, they are not intended to make systemwide policy decisions, manage projects or project teams, or oversee ongoing services. CKGs are proposed by UC Libraries’ staff who identify an issue, topic, subject, or content format that would benefit from the creation of a cross-­‐campus community. The Direction and Oversight Committee (DOC) provides broad oversight for the CKGs and their registration process.

Key Expectations

  1. Maintain an email list for use by the CKG open to all interested UC Libraries staff.
  2. Post and maintain a historical record of meeting minutes and reports, accessible to all interested UC Libraries staff.
  3. Gather and share information about the environment, opportunities, new technologies, best practices, content, and local campus developments within a defined knowledge area.
  4. Provide input and information to other UC Libraries groups as requested.
  5. Conceive and advance innovative ideas and improvements relevant to the UC Libraries’ Systemwide Plan and Priorities. Ideas for new projects should be presented to DOC for approval through the Project Proposal Template
 
Active Common Knowledge Group (CKGs) Public Workspace Contact
Archival Management Systems User Group CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Eric Milenkiewicz, UCR eric.milenkiewicz@ucr.edu
Art & Architecture CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Emilee Mathews, UCI  emilee.mathews@uci.edu
Born Digital Content CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Laura Uglean Jackson, UCI (Chair) lugleanj@uci.edu, Kelly Spring, UCI (Vice-Chair)  kspring@uci.edu
British / U.S. History and Gender Studies CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Diana King, UCLA diking@library.ucla.edu
Cataloging and Metadata CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jim Dooley, UC Merced jdooley@ucmerced.edu
Data Curation CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Reid Otsuji, UCSD (Chair) rotsuji@ucsd.edu, Tom Brittnacher, UCSB (Vice-Chair) tombritt@UCSB.EDU
Digital Humanities CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jerrold Shiroma, UCM jshiroma@ucmerced.edu
Digital Repository Metadata (DRMD) CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Arwen Hutt, UCSD ahutt@ucsd.edu
Government Information Libraries (GILS) CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Lucia Orlando, UCSC luciao@ucsc.edu, Kelly Smith k5smith@ucsd.edu
Interlibrary Lending CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jennifer Lee, UCLA ​jcl@library.ucla.edu
Law CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jennifer Lentz, UCLA ​lentz@law.ucla.edu
Music CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Scott Stone, UCI stonesm@uci.edu
Physical Sciences & Engineering (PSE) CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Brian Quigley, UCB bquigley@berkeley.edu
Preservation CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Dawn Aveline, UCLA ​avelined@library.ucla.edu
Reference CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Cynthia Johnson, UCI  cynthiaj@uci.edu
Scholarly Communications Group CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Katie Fortney, CDL katie.fortney@ucop.edu, Shu Liu, UCI shu.liu@uci.edu
UC Shared Visual Resources CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Gregory Reser, UCSD greser@ucsd.edu, Jacqueline Spafford, UCSB  spafford@hfa.ucsb.edu
Web Archiving CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace TBD
Inactive Common Knowledge Group (CKGs) Public Workspace Contact
Business & Economics (former Bibliogrpaher Group)    
Digitization CKG Charter [PDF] (merged with Preservation CKG)   Susan Chesley Perry, UCSC chesley@ucsc.edu
English and American Literature (former Bibliogrpaher Group)    
European History, Languages & Literature (former Bibliographer Group)    
Library IT CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Shawn Duncan, UCSC ashawn@ucsc.edu
Linguistics (former Bibliographer Group)    
News (former Bibliographer Group)    
Philosophy and Religious Studies (former Bibliographer Group)    
Project Management CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Adrian Petrisor, UCI  petrisor@uci.edu
Statistics CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Joanne Miller, CDL  joanne.miller@ucop.edu

 

Last updated: May 16, 2016