Common Knowledge Groups

Guidelines for Common Knowledge Groups (Rev. October 6, 2015) [PDF]

Overview

Common Knowledge Groups (CKGs) are standing groups of experts or pioneers in areas of interest to the University of California Libraries (UCL). The intention of CKGs is to foster innovation and continuous improvement by providing a venue for staff across campuses and from various levels to exchange ideas and collaborate on systemwide initiatives. Although CKGs may communicate with groups in the UCL Advisory Structure, they are not intended to make systemwide policy decisions, manage projects or project teams, or oversee ongoing services. CKGs are proposed by UC Libraries’ staff who identify an issue, topic, subject, or content format that would benefit from the creation of a cross-­‐campus community. The Direction and Oversight Committee (DOC) provides broad oversight for the CKGs and their registration process.

Key Expectations

  1. Maintain an email list for use by the CKG open to all interested UC Libraries staff.
  2. Post and maintain a historical record of meeting minutes and reports, accessible to all interested UC Libraries staff.
  3. Gather and share information about the environment, opportunities, new technologies, best practices, content, and local campus developments within a defined knowledge area.
  4. Provide input and information to other UC Libraries groups as requested.
  5. Conceive and advance innovative ideas and improvements relevant to the UC Libraries’ Systemwide Plan and Priorities. Ideas for new projects should be presented to DOC for approval through the Project Proposal Template
 
Active Common Knowledge Group (CKGs) Public Workspace Contact
African Studies CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Ruby Bell-Gam, UCLA rbellgam@library.ucla.edu
Archival Management Systems User Group CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Laurel McPhee, UCSD lmcphee@ucsd.edu
Art & Architecture CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Emilee Mathews, UCI emilee.mathews@uci.edu
Born Digital Content CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Laura Uglean Jackson, UCI lugleanj@uci.edu,
Kelly Spring, UCI kspring@uci.edu 
British / U.S. History and Gender Studies CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Becky Imamoto, UCI rimamoto@uci.edu
CALIFIA CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Rhonda Neugebauer, UCR rhondan@ucr.edu 
Cataloging and Metadata CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jim Dooley, UC Merced jdooley@ucmerced.edu
Data Curation CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Tom Brittnacher, UCSB (Chair) tombritt@ucsb.edu,
Christy Caldwell, UCSC (Co-chair) caldwell@ucsc.edu,
Christy Hightower, UCSC (Co-chair) christyh@ucsc.edu,
Ann Hubble, UCSC (Co-chair) ahubble@ucsc.edu
Digital Humanities CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jerrold Shiroma, UCM jshiroma@ucmerced.edu
Digital Repository Metadata (DRMD) CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Arwen Hutt, UCSD ahutt@ucsd.edu
East Asian Studies CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace  Shi Deng, UCSD sdeng@ucsd.edu
eBook Usability CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Chan Li, CDL chan.li@ucop.edu 
Education CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Christina Cicchetti, UCR  christina.cicchetti@ucr.edu
Ethnic Studies CKG Charter [PDF]  Workspace  Gerardo "Gary" Colmenar, UCSB colmenar@library.ucsb.edu
European History, Languages & Literature CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Sam Dunlap, UCSD sdunlap@ucsd.edu 
Government Information Libraries (GILS) CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jim Church, UCB jchurch@library.berkeley.edu,
Joseph Yue, UCLA  josephyue@library.ucla.edu 
Heads of Special Collections CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Audra Eugle Yun, UCI audra.yun@uci.edu 
Health & Life Sciences CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Bethany Harris, UCSD beharris@ucsd.edu 
Instructional Design CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Dominique Turnbow, UCSD dturnbow@ucsd.edu 
Interlibrary Lending CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jennifer Lee, UCLA ​jcl@library.ucla.edu
Law CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Jennifer Lentz, UCLA ​lentz@law.ucla.edu
Maps & Geospatial Data CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Mike Smith, UCSD mls003@library.ucsd.edu 
Middle East Studies CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace David Hirsch, UCLA dhirsch@library.ucla.edu
Music CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Scott Stone, UCI stonesm@uci.edu
Performing Arts and Media Studies CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Diana King, UCLA diking@library.ucla.edu 
Physical Sciences & Engineering (PSE) CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Brian Quigley, UCB bquigley@berkeley.edu
Preservation CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Dawn Aveline, UCLA ​avelined@library.ucla.edu
Public Services in Special Collections CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Robin M. Katz, UCR robin.katz@ucr.edu 
Reference CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Cynthia Johnson, UCI cynthiaj@uci.edu
Regional Library Facilities (RLF) CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Cathy Martyniak, UCLA cmartyniak@library.ucla.edu,
Erik Mitchell, UCB emitchell@berkeley.edu 
Scholarly Communications CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Katie Fortney, CDL katie.fortney@ucop.edu,
Shu Liu, UCI shu.liu@uci.edu
Shared Visual Resources CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace  Linda Fitzgerald, UCB fitzgerald@berkeley.edu,
Jacqueline Spafford, UCSB spafford@hfa.ucsb.edu
Social Sciences CKG Charter [PDF]  Workspace  Annette Marines, UCSC amarines@ucsc.edu   
UC Archivists Council CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Marlayna Christensen, UCSD mkchristensen@ucsd.edu
Web Archiving CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Perry Willett, CDL perry.willett@ucop.edu
Inactive Common Knowledge Group (CKGs) Public Workspace Contact
Business & Economics (former Bibliographer Group)    
Digitization CKG Charter [PDF] (merged with Preservation CKG)   Susan Chesley Perry, UCSC chesley@ucsc.edu
English and American Literature (former Bibliographer Group)    
European History, Languages & Literature (former Bibliographer Group)    
Library IT CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Shawn Duncan, UCSC ashawn@ucsc.edu
Linguistics (former Bibliographer Group)    
News (former Bibliographer Group)    
Philosophy and Religious Studies (former Bibliographer Group)    
Political Science (former Bibliographer Group merged with current Social Sciences CKG) Workspace   
Project Management CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Adrian Petrisor, UCI  petrisor@uci.edu
Psychology (former Bibliographer Group merged with current Social Sciences CKG) Workspace   
Social Science Data (former Bibliographer Group merged with current Social Sciences CKG) Workspace   
Sociology & Anthropology (former Bibliographer Group merged with current Social Sciences CKG) Workspace   
Statistics CKG Charter [PDF] Workspace Joanne Miller, CDL  joanne.miller@ucop.edu

 

Last updated: February 17, 2017