Collection Development Committee Group (CDC)

Years active: 1998-2013

NOTE: Beginning July 2013, the University of California Libraries launched a revised advisory structure. The groups within the previous structure are no longer active, including this group. See UC Libraries Advisory Structure (UCLAS) for information about the current structure.

Group Description

The Collection Development Committee (CDC) was comprised of one representative from each campus library system appointed by the University Librarian, one representative from the California Digital Library (CDL), one representative from the UC Libraries' Shared Print Program, and one representative from the Librarians' Association of the University of California (LAUC).

The CDC was an all-campus group reporting to SOPAG. The CDC Chair was selected by the membership for a two-year term. The CDC:

  • Advised SOPAG on collection development issues.
  • Coordinated systemwide activities relating to collection development with the California Digital Library (CDL) and the Joint Steering Committee on Shared Collections (JSC).
  • Coordinated systemwide activities relating to preservation, special collections, and archives with its subcommittees Preservation Advisory Group (PAG) , Heads of Special Collections (HOSC), and the University of California Archivists Council (UCAC), respectively.
  • Served as a discussion group among the members on collection development issues.
  • Communicated with other all-campus groups, SOPAG, appointed task forces, and other common interest groups on collection development issues.
  • Coordinated UC bibliographer consortial groups.
  • In conjunction with the Directors for Shared Digital and Print Collections, arranged funding for systemwide or multi-campus acquisition of resources as appropriate.

Key Documents

Roster at Time of Disbandment

UC Berkeley

Bernie Hurley
Director for Collection Services, Library Technologies, Preservation and the NRLF
University of California, Berkeley

UC Davis

Gail Yokote
Associate University Librarian for Sciences & Technical Services
University of California, Davis

UC Irvine

Lorelei Tanji
Assistant University Librarian, Collections
University of California, Irvine

UC Los Angeles

Sharon Farb (Chair)
Associate University Librarian for Collection Management and Scholarly Communication
University of California, Los Angeles

UC Merced

Jim Dooley
Head, Collection Services
University of California, Merced

UC Riverside

Kuei Chiu
Head, Collection Development Department
University of California, Riverside

UC San Diego

Martha Hruska
Associate University Librarian, Collection Services
University of California, San Diego

UC San Francisco

Julia Kochi
Director, Digital Library and Collections
University of California, San Francisco

UC Santa Barbara

Janet Martorana
Head, Collection Development Department
University of California, Santa Barbara

UC Santa Cruz

Robin L. Chandler
Associate University Librarian, Collections & Library Information Systems
University of California, Santa Cruz

California Digital Library

Ivy Anderson
Director of Collections
California Digital Library

California Digital Library

Patricia Cruse
Director, Digital Preservation
California Digital Library


Michael R. Oppenheim
Collections and Reference Services Librarian
University of California, Los Angeles

Ex Officio

Catherine Mitchell
Director, eScholarship Publishing Program
California Digital Library

Reporting Groups

Links to documents are password protected. Request a password.

Bibliographer Consortial Groups

CDL-Licensed News Resources Task Force

E-Books Task Force

EBSCO-Gale Database Evaluation Task Force

Elsevier/ACM (Shared Print Collection) Pilot Assessment

Heads of Special Collections (HOSC)

Negotiations with Elsevier/Academic Press Planning Task Group

Persistence Implementation Task Force

Preservation Advisory Group

Prospective Shared Print Monographs Task Force

RLF De-Duplication Task Force, Phase I

RLF De-Duplication Task Force, Phase II

Scholarly Communication Officers

Shared Monographs Coordinating Group

Shared Monographs Planning Group

Shared Print Journal Collection Working Group

Shared Print Steering Task Force

UC Archivists Council


Document owner: Felicia Poe
Last updated: June 24, 2021